Mouse detected but not functioning

georgiebhoy 19:59 14 Feb 15

Hi,

I have resurrected my old viao laptop mainly just for some nostalgia and specifically to play Max Payne 2 which refuses to place on my windows 7 desktop. A clean install of XP +sp2 has led to an annoying problem which I has exhausted my limited knowledge. All mice are being detected but not functioning. This includes a simple dell wired three button and a logitech wireless versions which makes me think it is not a driver issue (although these are up to date) but I am no techie. All the mice are working on other computers. The mice show up under HID in device manager and the laptop pad shows up under mice and other pointing devices and is working fine. I don't know if these locations are normal. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

rdave13 20:59 14 Feb 15

Try booting without the mouse connected. Once logged in and on the desktop connect the usb mouse. See if it detects it and installs the generic drivers again.

georgiebhoy 10:01 15 Feb 15

Plugging in a mouse after reboot results in the windows recognition sound being played but nothing else. When I try the wireless mouse the usb dongle was lighting up every time I moved or clicked the mouse. I tried disabling the touch pad to see if there was a conflict. Device manager says everything is working.

georgiebhoy 10:02 15 Feb 15

Plugging in a mouse after reboot results in the windows recognition sound being played but nothing else. When I try the wireless mouse the usb dongle was lighting up every time I moved or clicked the mouse. I tried disabling the touch pad to see if there was a conflict. Device manager says everything is working.

georgiebhoy 12:40 15 Feb 15