Mother board upgrade

br8nd4n 12:12 30 Mar 08

Hi,

I have an old Pentium 4 2.5Ghz that came from PC World a good few years ago running Windows XP. I've upgraded the PSU and video card since. The motherboard is a Packard Bell Columbia that has a limit of just 512mb RAM.

I've been offered a Packard Bell Columbia 5P board to replace it. The physical form of the new board is exact so shouldn't be a problem there. Could someome kindly tell me though what problems I will encounter when swaping over componets from the old board onto the new one and restarting for the first time? I do not have an Windows XP installation disk as it did not come with the original PC when I bought it.

I've read a few tutorials and walkthroughs about how to actually remove and replace a motherboard, its just the technical problems regarding BIOS etc. that I don't understand.

I am a complete novice regarding computers so please bear this in mind when replying and be gentle with me!

PS. I know I would be better off buying a whole new computer but this is sadly not an option at the moment!

Thanks very much.

thms 12:24 30 Mar 08

Your first problem is going to be the lack of an xp instalation disc. Changing a motherboard usually requires a clean install.
If you just change the motherboard and boot up you may be lucky, but I doubt it as there will be conflicts with motherboard drivers.

There is also the problem of activating xp unless you have a retail instalation disc.

br8nd4n 12:39 30 Mar 08

thms,
Thanks for your reply. If I change the mother board, boot up and it has all gone horribly wrong, can I put everything back on the original motherboard and carry on as usual, or is that too simple?

Thanks again

thms 12:54 30 Mar 08

Yes you could do that.
Saying that though computers are funny things.