Monitor test

Graham. 16:43 08 Jul 09

This will keep you busy for a few hours click here

I've got a new monitor, but I don't think my graphics card can do it justice - Nvidia GeForce 8400GS.

Graphicool1 16:48 08 Jul 09

If you've got Nvidia Geforce Graphics Card look in 'Control Panel' for the Monitor 'Nvidia Control Panel'

Graphicool1 17:39 08 Jul 09

I clicked your link and followed instructions to the letter. Went to turn off the 'Display Properties' Colour Management. It wasn't on! I did the test and found out why it wasn't on? It doesn't need any help as it passed every aspect of the test with flying colours! Which as an artist and photographer, I'm more than glad to know.

Not bad for a 7 year old CRT Monitor that is used for approx 10 hours a day every day!

Graham. 17:59 08 Jul 09

Thanks, I've reset the Nvidia to default. I'll go through the test again, the Monitor is LG W2361V.

Graphicool1 19:20 08 Jul 09

-
Remember the majority of the light in the room should be coming from the PC screen.

Go to your 'Control Panel'
Click 'Display'
Click 'Settings'
Click 'Advanced'
Click 'Color Management'

Default Monitor Profile: (should be set to <None>) Before you start the test.

Graham. 14:51 09 Jul 09

I'm on Vista, don't get the option of Default Monitor 'None'. Still not happy with the Contrast test.

What is your Graphics Card, please? There's a bewildering amount of new cards. As the monitor has an HDMI input, I'm looking at those with that output.

Like you, I'm mainly doing photos for 2 websites, so I need them to look their best. Many of them are sent in, so I have to enhance them first.

Graphicool1 15:37 09 Jul 09

-
My Graphics Card is...
NVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX 400
7 years old, in fact my whole system is 7 years old.
The Monitor is a Hansol

Graham. 16:02 09 Jul 09

Thanks, my old computer had that card. I've just given it away (minus the HD) on Freecycle, so I can't try it.

woodchip 16:14 09 Jul 09