Monitor has a life of its own. Screen size changes

BlitZace 23:58 09 Jun 03

This has been driving me crazy for a few days now and I can't seem to solve the problem. I have an 'Iiyama Vision Master Pro 454' 19" Monitor which I bought new from Dabs 3-4 weeks ago. It seems to work fine however I have noticed some very strange and frustrating occurrences. Everytime I boot up my machine the screen borders on either side seem to keep changing, and on every boot up they're never the same. I have tried to install drivers for the monitor which I downloaded from the Iiyama site. I installed these and it didn't make any difference. The one thing I did notice is that when the screen borders do change the driver also changes? From using the Iiyama driver it changes to 'Default Monitor' and this is when the borders become much smaller. Before I installed the Iiyama driver it would change from 'Plug and Play' to 'Default Monitor' also.

I found that by changing the refresh rate and resetting it back again it goes back to how it's supposed to be. The monitor is running at 1280x1024 at 85hz refresh rate, although it can go upto 120hz at this resolution.
It's really driving me mad, as each and everytime I boot up the machine the screen size is different. I e-mailed Dabs about the problem and they replied saying to ring a number as it has an onsite warranty. I'd rather not do this and simply just get it sorted myself.

I could really do with a hand to get this sorted, before I go making calls to this number. Thanks in advance for any help with my situation - JT

wossie 00:23 10 Jun 03