Monitor drivers

coolteentom 21:20 30 Aug 05

Hi,

I've been using a system fine for a few years now. However, I have recently bought a new tower, which uses the monitor with a maximum of 16 colours. I know this monitor can go way above this. Is there some driver out there I can just download, which will update it to work with a higher resolution?

Cheers,

tom

goonerbill © ® 21:24 30 Aug 05

look at the back of you monitor. there should be a label which tells you who made it and which model it is. put these details into a search on the web and it should find a website with the latest drivers for you or you could post the info in here.

Stuartli 21:38 30 Aug 05

Have you checked your graphics card configuration via Display Properties?

Go to Settings tab>Advanced button>Adapter tab and click on List All Modes and you will be provided with all the details of the resolutions, colour etc that your card will supprt.

Click on the one you require (set refresh rate at 85MHz to prevent any possibility of flickering).

DieSse 22:36 30 Aug 05

Monitors don't have, and don't require, drivers (in the normally accepted sense of what a driver is).

What they have is .inf files, which are simply txt fils containing the parameters of the monitor (to aid in settings. Not al monitors have their own .inf files, as many use the standard Windows ones.

Somtimes monitors also have colour profiles .icm files - which may help with setting up clour matching.

Don't waste too much time worrying about monitor files - use the information above to set up your graphics card, and you should be OK.

Stuartli 23:00 30 Aug 05

I forgot to mention that monitors don't require drivers....:-(

coolteentom

If you don't believe us just check the Driver tab in Device Manager for your monitor...:-)

Chegs ® 23:42 30 Aug 05

I wouldn't call the .inf file a driver,but XP does. :-)

click here

DieSse 23:56 30 Aug 05

XP gets other things wrong too ;-))