Mobo recognising large drive

phil 15:51 10 Apr 04

I have a HP Pavilion 8750 that originally came with a 20gb Quantum Fireball h/d. I have now fitted a Hitachi Deskstar 80 gb h/d but only 38gb gets recognised.

I looked on the Hitachi website and downloaded the utility tool for forcing m/b's to recognise larger drives but it didn't work. Just got the message that the maximum of 38gb had been reached.

The m/b is an Asus MEW-AM 1.13 and according to the Asus site the last bios upgrade was version 1003.004. has my m/b got that one?, going by the 1.13 as above.

So, is there a way of getting my full 80gb recognised or not?

stalion 17:49 10 Apr 04

bump

ened 18:04 10 Apr 04

stalion -what does that mean?

stalion 18:06 10 Apr 04

takes the post to the top of the posts,no response for phil yet

bremner 18:17 10 Apr 04

I know your drive is not a maxtor but the same applies click here

kotor 18:25 10 Apr 04

Hi, Phil I'm no expert in this, but what is your Bios registering? As a last resort (I know I'm putting this first in the list) you may have to flash your bios. DO NOT DO THIS LIGHTLY.

A safer way to do this is to try out a program like partition commander, (have a look at their demo, it's free :) ) and see if it recognises your full HD. If so let it format if and split the drive as you want. If you want to buy software like this imo partition magic is the best.

Also what OS are you using?

hth

k

woodchip 18:28 10 Apr 04

As it's a IBM drive renamed Hitachi go to the IBM site to see if they have Disc overlay software that over rides your BIOS. By creating it's own boot system

slimbo51 20:20 10 Apr 04

On 2 comp I have built recently both having 80g H/Drives in them (Can't rememember manf, think prob Maxtor), the drives were only reconised as 20g in total in Fdisk.