Mobile phone/laptop internet conncetion

philrose 20:24 26 Mar 03

Hi I need info on how to connect and use a laptop and mobile phone for internet access. I need to travel and connect to the internet where there is no land line available.
Thanks
Phil

graham 20:41 26 Mar 03

Piece of cake! You need a WAP enabled mobile (Wireless Application Protocol)fitted in your laptop.

philrose 21:05 26 Mar 03

Can anyone give info on the best way to connect a mobile phone to laptop for internet use, I have been tol by cable or infa red port, please advise on best way

Phil

sdf 00:08 27 Mar 03

There are a number of ways of doing it - what mobile phone do you have currently. Model dependant you can connect it up using a cable, or via infrared or bluetooth. If you let me know which network you are on and which handset you have I can give you the best way of doing it. (If you hadnt guessed - I work in the mobile communications industry!). An interesting side note to anyone reading - according to the Hutchison 3 Rep I spoke to today, where you can get coverage one can expect an average of 380kps connection speed - makes one consider being one of the first 20000 to get a half price phone! near broadband connection speed! (ish!)

Steve

bigdamouk 00:22 27 Mar 03

Hi, im sorry to jack your thread philrose

But i have a sony vaio laptop and a Sharp GX1 mobile on O2, the phone is wap enabled.

Is this phone capable of internet connection through my laptop?

And secondly HOW??? :)

Many Thanks
Damian

sdf 00:36 27 Mar 03

bigdamouk
Hello there, right, dunno if you have an IR port on your Vaio - I imagine you do. but if you load the modem driver from the cd that should have come with your phone (if not get it here: click here