midi interface vs xp media center: frustration

adopted.son 01:04 29 Apr 08

I'm looking into piddling w/ midi, specifically SysEx dumping from a DR-5 by Boss (Roland)and then after I (ever) learn Sonar 7 Producer, diving into more of the wonderful world of midi. Prior to bidding on an M-Audio Audiophile interface, I noticed (fortunately) that it's not compatible due to Media Center Edition (wish I'd-a known) computers do not support "third-party sound devices."
QUESTION: what mods may I have done or do myself to accomidate my wishes, bearing in mind that I'm really a drummer-turned-home-studio-recording-artist-rockstar-wannabe. :)

blessings to all!
eric, St.Pete,Florida
P.S.: I love all of you here at PC Advisor's helproom! You've "saved my bacon" bunches!

MCE2K5 01:18 29 Apr 08

Hi Eric,

Could you explain what your wish with Midi is,

and where does 'Media Center Edition' fit in.

p.s. What's the weather like.

adopted.son 02:42 29 Apr 08

My midi wish is to:
a) learn what the devil I'm doing in the first place. LOL!
b) do a SysEx (I've recently learned this term. System Exclusive. What it means remains a mystery...) dump from song patterns programmed in my Boss Dr. Rhythm Section DR-5 to my computer. There's an app called DR-5 Edit that will enable programming the DR-5 from the desktop, too. For that, I need an interface so I was browsing eBay. Then I found that M-Audio interface device and while reading up on it then discovered the note that the Windows Media Center Edition XP loaded computers do not support "third party sound devices." I just acquired a Gateway with the XP media center edition. Apparantly that's a whole different OS than XP Home and XP Pro.
I am barely over being a rank ameteur in computers, and I'm still a bit dangerous to my PC, but I am a quick study.
Is my dillemma imagined or is it easily rectified by installing and aftermarket sound card and driver? Or am I way off base here?