Methylated Spirits

Inverjazz 07:59 20 Jun 03

Is it safe to use meths for cleaning tape heads? I'm thinking about damage to insulation, plastics, etc.

Jester2K II 08:02 20 Jun 03

Use a cotton bud CAREFULLY

-pops- 08:04 20 Jun 03

You would be better with isopropyl alcohol. click here and search for item number RE71N

Brian

Peverelli 08:14 20 Jun 03

Jif (or Cif) on a cotton bud does the job safely, but make sure you remove the residue completely.

-pops- 08:22 20 Jun 03

Jif (Cif) contains abrasives and will wear down the surface of your tape heads (and anything else it is rubbed on to).

It will clean, yes, but at what cost?

Brian

Peverelli 08:29 20 Jun 03

The jif tip was given to me by the owner of a recording studio. I've been using it on a tape player for about 10 years and it still sounds good. I should've added that only a tiny amount is required.

-pops- 08:32 20 Jun 03

I was stating facts for Inverjazz to judge for himself whether he want to do this.

Peverelli 08:42 20 Jun 03

Fair enough :O)

Inverjazz 09:24 20 Jun 03

Thanks guys,

I had my doubts about meths. I'm using Maplin's Universal Head Cleaner at the moment but I'm not too sure about its efficiency. Isopropyl Alcohol is my preference, which I used to have a steady supply of until I retired. So I guess I'll now have to buy some!

Agent Smith 09:33 20 Jun 03