Message at startup

rose3 10:36 21 Oct 09

Hi there,

I'm writing on behalf of my Mum. She has been having problems with her computer for a long time, running slow, slow to start up etc...the usual, and I said I would check it out for her. I am no expert, but am not a novice either, I know a little bit about computers so did what I could.

She has Windows XP which she uses on a Dell computer. I cleaned up her start up using msconfig, and disabled things she did not want to run at start up and also uninstalled programmes she no longer used using revouninstaller. I removed her virus software as it was out of date and replaced it with Avast! This found a couple of viruses which I subsequently deleted. I installed CCleaner and Glary Utilities to clean up the registry. She has told me that her computer is much faster now at start up and also loading web pages.

However, there is one thing that was not fixed and I am unsure as to what to do about it. My Mum shuts down her computer in the correct way, by going to the start menu and then to shut down. However when she starts up the computer she gets a message come up on the black screen with white writing which says...

'We apologise for the inconvenience but windows did not start successfully - a recent hardware or software change might have caused this. If your computer stopped responding, restarted unexpectedly or was automatically shut down to protect your files and folders choose last known good configuration to revert to the most recent settings that worked. If a previous startup attempt was interupted due to a power failure or because the power or reset button was pressed, or if you aren't sure what caused the problem, choose start windows normally' (it then gives options to start up which are; safe mode, safe mode with networking, safe mode with command prompt, last known good configuration and start windows normally)