Maxtor External Hard Drive doesnt work

Deniset 13:51 29 Mar 07

I am trying to get the Maxtor external hard drive to work.
I have reinstalled it and followed all the instructions on the screen. When I click the icon it takes to me to the main menu, I click set up and am taken to another screen which tells me to select a drive - but there is no where to type in the information and nothing happens.

I want to back up all the information on my computer.

Any ideas - please I am a rank beginner in these external hard drive things so really simple langugage for a silver surfer
Many thanks

Technotiger 14:06 29 Mar 07

Hi, what is the Model number of your drive? I assume it is a USB drive - is your computer USB2 compatible, because I suspect the drive is USB2, which I don't think is backward compatible to USB1.

To find out if your pc is USB2 compatible ... Right-click on My Computer and then Left-click on Properties, then on Hardware then on Device Manager, then Left-click on the + beside Universal Serial Bus controllers - if you then see the word Enhanced anywhere within that section, then your PC is USB2 compatible. You can then just close all the small windows that you just opened.

That will give us somewhere to start, to try to help you.

anskyber 14:06 29 Mar 07

When the drive is plugged in and switched on does your PC recognise it? By that I mean if you go into "My Computer" is the new drive there? If it is it will probably already have a drive letter assigned by XP.

Deniset 18:17 29 Mar 07

Hello
No I dont see enhanced on the USB serial bus controllers

Diemmess 18:22 29 Mar 07

As I understand your concern:

1) You have an external (USB) drive and want to use it for backup?

2) The Maxtor HD is inside a case with power supply and USB cable?

3) You can't find the external Hard Disk when the computer is running and the external HD too?

If you can answer these three questions, it would help people offer useful advice.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~