Maxtor 1TB 3.5" Shard External Drive - file share

bokvis 09:26 15 Feb 08

Rally appreciate someone's help comments as a complete novice.

Current setup
Sony Vaio VGN-A397XP Laptop
Toshiba Satellite Pro Laptop
Netgear 108 Mbps wireless router

Question
I need to share information or create a central data base (basic excel, word docs) between the 2 laptops. Sometimes i take one laptop when i travel so information needs to remain for other laptop to access.

Can i use the Maxtor 1TB Shard External drive for this application - just plug it in to the router - or what do you suggest to creat a basic network.

Apologise if this is really basic. Any advise would be appreciated

Thank you

Taff™ 09:50 15 Feb 08

That might be overkill unless you need all that storage space. Just how big are the "Common" files?

I have a similar situation and run my business from home where I have several computers and a laptop. I keep all my business files on the laptop and back up the entire system to a 250 Gb external hard drive using Acronis True Image. All my essential business files including database, spreadsheets and documents will actually fit on a 1gb encrypted memory stick so I carry that on my key ring.

I also leave a copy of all my business documents on a second computer at home which is wireless networked. The only problem with this is that I have to remember to synchronise the files and keep them updated with the latest version. It takes less than 10 minutes to do this on all the media I use.

bokvis 10:07 15 Feb 08

Firstly thank you for the prompt response..

I have a huge amount of spreadsheets,and other excel files etc

The solution what i am looking for is that at the moment i do delivery notes on excel and keep it on my laptop. I am just about to employ someone, hence we both need to access a "central database" especially when my laptop is out the office - also obviously if i am processing i.e. order number 1 the other person can access and process order no 2......