Make a brochure on a CD ?

Dirty Dick 11:07 28 Jul 04

First of all, APLOGIES - I'm completely new to all this.
I want to make a brochure, to be put onto a CD, which will include Videos, Backgound music, photos, Gifs, and text etc.. A friend of mine tells me to set it up like a Web Page, using FrontPage (I think !). Can anybody tell me if it is possible to put all those formats into the CD, and also recommend any instructions/tutorials for FrontPage. Please be gentle, it's my first time.
Thanks

Taran 11:31 28 Jul 04

it is a large overall topic with many smaller elements making up the whole.

Yes, setting a CD ROM up to autorun a website is a common and relatively easy way to get a brochure onto disk. I often do this for clients and you can put a huge range of products and information onto one CD. It is inexpensive and changes may be made quickly and burned to new disks, so it is also quick to alter if a product range progresses or prices change.

Things to look out for are file formats, especailly where animations and/or music are concerned.

You should have no issues with GIF, JPG and PNG image files, with BMP also being supported by most PCs, if not directly supported by all web browsers.

You cannot guarantee though, that all computers the disk will be played on will have a suitable media player for background music, animations of certain types or JavaScripts.

For example, many networks disable a lot of browser features for security reasons, which could break your project if the features required to support it have been made unavailable.

To make a CD autorun you need to create an autorun.inf file that contains the file the system should launch. Typically people often use a small .exe file which launches another file, which in your case would be the index.htm page of your website.

Some links to get you going:

click here

click here

click here

click here

click here