A mains power adapter question

Batch 14:17 28 Jan 12

OK, so not really to do with PCs, but there's a variety of knowledge on this forum.

With AC mains power it is quite normal for the supply current availability to exceed the needs of an appliance (e.g. one plugs an appliance that draws 1A into a 13A socket).

Does the same apply for DC current with a mains power adapter. For example, I have a radio that has built in rechargeable batteries. The supplied power adapter (rated at 9VDC 500mA output) has failed. Does the same concept apply as with AC mains power such that I can safely use a 9VDC 1000mA adapter in its place (such that the radio still just draws the current required) or would the 1000mA adapter overload the radio?

lotvic 14:42 28 Jan 12

I think the Adapter does the 'reducing' and feeds the appliance with the output so you need to have an Adapter that will reduce current to match the appliance.

I am not an expert, but I wouldn't risk not using the correct rated adapter.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 14:48 28 Jan 12

Does the same concept apply as with AC mains power such that I can safely use a 9VDC 1000mA adapter in its place

Yes this would be OK even preferable a syou would not be overloading the mains charger.

the radio will only draw the current it needs (the voltage must be correct) ad current limiting devices (if fitted dependant on battery type) will be in the radio's battery pack.

Batch 14:58 28 Jan 12

Thanks FB, I guessed that would be the case. Particularly as batteries themselves are a DC source and one could readily run a DC appliance from batteries of whatever capacity (but with correct voltage). Just wanted to be on safe side.

Bris 14:59 28 Jan 12