Low Disc Space - Too Many Copied Folders

trinaaahh_6127 01:57 06 Oct 03

I am not an expert at computers and I might have entered a couple of things wrong . I have hundreds of folders of the same thing , that being , photos . My hard drive is now critically low on disc space and says to delete unnecessary files. The problem is , that somehow my important computer program files are all mixed in with all of the folders in my computer . This is problem number two , I don't know how to properly delete my folders , and multiple delete them , because , some photo folders-I don't know how they got there- but they are copied like ten times or more, each. That means about a thousand folders, and I have no more space on my hard drive, please help me to correct this problem . signed, distressed.

terminus 03:36 06 Oct 03

Well it wouldbe better if you could give some more details what operating system etc.
I'll do my best deleting a folder, right click and choose the delete option.
Multiple folders hold down the Ctrl button on the keyboard left click all the folders you want to delete, then use the delete button on the keyboard.

For the rest? I saw a reply from Jester II where he said some virus's replicate folders etc. So hopefully someone will come along and advise you on this.

Jester2K II 07:41 06 Oct 03

These copy folders - are they called Copy of FolderName (1), Copy Of FolderName (2) etc etc??

Mango Grummit 08:26 06 Oct 03

I can see where Jester is coming from here so best answer his question first as you may have a virus problem.

If on the other hand it is just a case of getting tidied up then this is a handy little tool for finding duplicated images. Dupelocater from click here

Mango Grummit 08:30 06 Oct 03

Not just images, didn't really mean to give that impression --- ANY file, any ext, any name.

Jester2K II 08:38 06 Oct 03