Lost Disk Drive

cheryl.adams.94695 15:23 13 Jan 09

We've got an HP Pavilion computer with XP as the operating system (in French). I believe it's XP Media Edition.
About 2 weeks ago for no apparant reason Drive E (the disk drive) disappeared. I can get it back by doing 'system restore', but next time I turn the computer on, it's gone again.
Someone suggested that it's a Windows download that's caused it, as it does downloads automatically, but would that be right?
Has anyone got any suggestions as to how to put it right?
I'm not very technically minded, so please keep it as simple as possible!
Many thanks.

gary2112 15:54 13 Jan 09

If you click on then if you click on the start button in windows xp then click on control panel. then click on administration tools, then computer management, then storage now if you scroll down the list you will see some of your hard drives in blue if there now, if some have a black strip this shows that the drive its self is not working how it shroud . then you write click on the drive making shore you do not have any important info on the drive you want to keep .then click format this will wipe all data and put the drive back to its default settings start button in windows xp. Then click on control panel. then click on administration tools, then computer management, then storage now if you scroll down the list you will see some of your hard drives in blue if there now if some have a black strip this shows that the drive its self is not working how it should .so then you write click on the drive making shore you do not have any important info on the drive you want to keep .then click format this will wipe all data and put the drive back to its default settings .ps are you a brit in france

cheryl.adams.94695 18:19 13 Jan 09

Last bit first (the easy bit!) - yes, I'm a Brit living in France.