Loading Windows On newly formatted disk

Farleyjim 08:57 29 Jul 04

I've just reformatted a 20ghz hard disc and am having difficulty loading Windows 2000 on it. I formatted using a windows 98se startup floppy by typing "format c: /s" and everything seemed to be ok. When it had finished and I typed SETUP with Windows 2000CD, it told me that neither D or E were valid drives. Going back to look at the directory of the newly formatted C drive I see there is just one file: Command.com when I would expect to see the system files copied from the floppy disc. Have I missed something or am I just being a dork?

anchor 09:13 29 Jul 04

I have no experience with Win-2K and do not know if the CD is bootable, but try this:

Boot with your Win98SE floppy, place the Win2K CD in the CD Rom drive, then type E:
This should give you access to the CD. (Typing dir should show you the contents of the disc you inserted). If you then type setup or setup.exe hopefully this will start the setup procedure.

bob's 09:21 29 Jul 04

I did it before and you have to use the Windows 2000 boot disks(four in total) after formatting it on the Windows 98 boot disk.Just download the win 2000 boot disks.

seedie 09:27 29 Jul 04

Can you boot from the CD?

Go into BIOS and set first boot device to be CDROM

CD

temp003 09:50 29 Jul 04

The W2k CD is bootable, and if your CDROM and BIOS support booting from CD, you should do that.

You should not have used the format c: /s command anyway. Just format c: will do (if you're happy with FAT32 file system). You don't really want the 98 system files on C. Installing w2k on to C now will possibly give you a dual boot menu even though you don't have a 98 installation.

I don't know why your computer says neither D nor E is a valid drive. Did you start with CDROM support?