Little or No Connectivity Problem

fastestdogever 23:28 07 Sep 08

I’ve been having internet connection problems, and really-really-really appreciate any help I can get. I’m running XP Media Center Version 2002 with Service Pack 3. I don’t have a router, just a modem.

I installed Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2009, which automatically uninstalled Ad-Aware and Spybot. Approximately the same time I installed SP3. I’m not sure which one was the problem, but I’m guessing the Anti-Virus.

Since then, pages will only load in my browser (Firefox or IE) for about 10 minutes before I continually get Page Load/Unavailable errors. If I reboot my computer, I’ll be able to browse web pages for another ten minutes. If I re-boot my modem I’m still unable to load pages.

However, after ten minutes, I am still able to use Google Talk, GMail (it’ll load in my browser), and Internet Hearts/Checkers/Reversi/etc. for another half-hour or so.
I’m by no means a computer expert, but I’ve tried fiddling with a few things.

Under “Network Connections” I have 3 connections: 1394 Connection, Local Area Connection, and Local Area Connection 4. I’m not sure what 1394 does, but it says it’s connected. LAN4 is connected. LAN1, however, says “Little or No Connectivity”. Under “Details” it gives me a Physical Address, IP Address and Subnet Mask, but nothing for Default Gateway, DNS Server or WINS Server.
I’ve tried the “Repair” button for LAN1, but it gets stuck on “Renewing your IP address” and finally says that it is unable to renew my IP. I’ve tried renewing & releasing my IP through Command Prompt.

I came across somewhere else that said a similar problem is “Winsock Corruption”. I used Microsoft’s wizard and am still having the same problems.