Linux Suse 9.3 coexisting with WinXP Pro

dregn 07:39 23 Sep 05

I am running Win XP Pro - NTFS formatted.
I installed a new HDD and I have installed Suse 9.3 on the new drive. I think I must have missed something during the install with regard to dual booting and wish to enable this. Rather than risk 'disturbing' the Windows OS I believe that I can install a boot loader on a floppy ( or a flash drive ? )which will allow me to boot Suse when needed.
As I am new to Linux I regard this as a learning operation but using WinXP primarily.
Any ideas or suggestions much appreciated.

Chegs ® 08:10 23 Sep 05

During Suse install,the OS asks where to put the bootloader(Grub or Lilo)If you want it on floppy,or MBR.I usually let it install Grub to MBR,with no problems.Then once installed,boot to Suse install and change the 1st boot option of Grub to XP.

dregn 08:16 23 Sep 05

Chegs

Thank you for that.
I think I will reinstall Suse 9.3 and pick up on your advice.Do I need to uninstall Suse and begin again ?

djbenny 09:04 23 Sep 05

wher can SuSe 9.3 be downloaded from i have only found the live edition, as i'm trying todo the same thing with a SATA drive...as to your qwuestion reinstall SuSe

dagwoood 10:17 23 Sep 05

If you scroll down this page, you'll find the U.K.mirror sites for Suse 9.3 click here

HTH, dagwoood.

Chegs ® 10:37 23 Sep 05

Due to the large d/l's for Suse I would take the easy option and keep an eye out for it on a mags coverdisk(or,I have Suse 9.2 DVD,if you contact me via email I will send you a copy of my disc)

vinnyT 13:13 23 Sep 05

It's on the October (Issue 59) of Linux Magazine

On the DVD: Suse Linux 9.3 Professional
---------------------------------------

* Full Professional version
* 4.2 GB DVD including 32-bit and 64-bit versions
* Full hard disk install
* Out-of-the-box solutions for client and server
* Full office suite and digital picture organizer
* Spam blocker, anti-virus, and firewall protection