linux LAN on my PC! am i hijacked?

amandawho 15:58 19 Nov 05

I have been using my pc, WINXP Pro, Wireless D-link adapter, actiontec modem; I am connected via Mac which is our main modem connection.

My pc operation has been excellent until a few days ago.

We run a MAC, PC, Laptop.
Mac is modem, others wireless.

The Mac and Laptop are up and running excellent;
They have been up and running all along. When I look at my actiontec ISP? online my computer name does not show up anymore. The other two do.

I have not changed any of my settings. I have been running wireless for at least 3 months.. working excellent.

I did a walk through with my modem support via phone, there are no problems with modem etc. During the walk through it showed my BlueTooth adapter with the yellow triangle and "!" I did not have my thingy plugged in (I installed to use WACOM tablet) not for LAN.

My pc will not connect to internet, even though my LAN shows it IS connected. When I log on to IE or Firefox, I get a page that reads "the page you found unavailable..." And instructs me to Tools/ connections/ internet options/...etc.

So I did this and to no avail.
*again I was CONNECTED but NO ACCESS.

NOW. The whatsit
What freaks me out..

While I was trying to get online, out of the blue, a new LAN showed up. It was LINUX. I cannot recall at the moment a version but it had three caps letters under it and showed "connected". I could not change any of its settings, remove it, disable it, nothing. Its as if it were unclickable/ shows up and leaves just as quickly. Whether its there or not, I cannot access internet.

None of us in the household runs Linux at all.
I dont even know what in the helllo Linux is.
So I googled it up and can't even understand what it reads about or why. None of us do.

I am seriously concerned bout my pc..
Does this mean I have been hijacked?

I've removed the D-link thingy. I put the ethernet card back in.

Now I am sat here on the MAC thinking to throw