Linux

dsimitas 03:34 03 Apr 03

I am a student that's building a new computer from scratch and wanted to install Linux as the OS but isn't sure what version is better for me to use.

I have asked IT guys I know and they tell me to use suSE Linux Because it more secure according to them but I am not sure if it's the best to start with.

John-259217 04:58 03 Apr 03

I`ve used SuSE 8.1 on a PIII system and found it OK. Like most Linux flavours it can be dificult in some ways but generally its installer and package updater work well. The Red Hat distro is a little less polished but still not bad or you could look at Slackwares offering. To some extent your choices are influenced by how you intend to get the O/S. The Linux distros are available as free (large!!) downloads or frequently given away on coverdisks and with text books. When you say secure do you mean system stability or security from hackers/viruses? Linux if set up well is generally more stable than windows but still has tantrums now and then. Viruses are not currently reguarded as a big problem due to the nature of the system but a Linux box can still be vulnerable to a hacker if it has not been well set up.

zanwalk 08:40 03 Apr 03

Mandrake 9.0 and Suse have the easiest installers for beginners, the best way to find one that suits you is to install two or three different ones, as everyone has their preferences, and will disagree on the best one! As above, they are freely available on cover disks, but if you have any difficulty, I have most of the popular distros and would gladly send you a copy.

jimv7 08:44 03 Apr 03

Try this

click here

dsimitas 16:56 03 Apr 03

I am talking about protection for attacks since most new attack that are like "I LOVE YOU" are created with linux because they don't want it to back fire because linux controls what the software on the system does but windows allows the attacker to do anything as long as the hardware allows it.

Taran 17:38 03 Apr 03