Links not working - Windows 7

Will 21:43 04 Aug 10

I am new to Windows 7. When clicking on internet links the links are not connecting. I am sure it will be a setting some where but I just can't find it. Can anybody hel please. Thanks.

northumbria61 22:41 04 Aug 10

Which Browser are you using?

Jayar 23:00 04 Aug 10

I am having the same problem and would be grateful for a solution, Googling has not provided any answers that work. I am running Windows 7 32-bit with IE 8 V 8.0.7600.16385.
I have no such problems with IE 8 on my PC running Windows XP Pro SP3, so I assume it is an issue with Windows 7 rather than IE 8 per se.

northumbria61 23:05 04 Aug 10

A lot of people have reported issues with Internet Explorer 8 and Windows 7 - I have to report that I haven't got any issues with it. However I use Mozilla Firefox as my default browser and very rarely use I.E.

Opinions vary but it does appear that it is not I.E. that is the problem but a conflict with the O.S.

northumbria61 23:10 04 Aug 10

There are suggestions that it may help if you lower the Security Level under Tools - Internet Options - worth a try to see if it works. Also trying it in safe mode (with networking) to see if the same problem occurs - if it doesn't run in nomal mode and disable all add-ons - then re-enable each one in turn to see if you can find the culprit.

Jayar 12:10 05 Aug 10

Thanks for the responses northumbria61 - I have tried disabling all add-ons, lowering the security level and also the Safe Mode, all with no improvement. I have been running Windows 7 and IE 8 on my laptop for over a year now, but this seems to have only started occurring in the past three weeks or so. It surprises me that Microsoft seem to have nothing about it on their websites as it is well reported on various other forums. I do have both IE 8 and Firefox on my PC (XP Pro SP3), but I prefer the appearance of IE, hence my interest in getting in working, rather than ditching it - for the moment at least!