linking video camera to computer

shigthicko 18:14 12 May 03

hi all i have a thomson digital video camera and have recently purchase a firewire port so i can copy my vidios on to cds , the video comes through the firewire into my software programe but minus sound,there is also no sound when i play it through windows movie player there is no instructions with video camera on how to set up to the computer and i haven't got any information reguarding this with my computer can any one help i am a novice so will need help in plain english or can you recomend a good site that will learn me how to set my video camera up to the computer

NotsoNewuser 21:26 12 May 03

Are there any check boxes in your editing software for making choices such as for sound?

LAP 22:54 12 May 03

Hi shigthicko, I use a Sony digital camera via a firewire port and download this to windows movie maker 2. I to am a beginner but have had no problems with the sound. Re NotsoNewuser's suggestion I have looked at win movie maker 2 and have found nowhere you can 'check boxes' etc. that would cause this problem. Is this the system you are using?

One thing, without being rude are you sure the sound is there i.e. recorded by your camera in the first place. With my camera I can play back video and audio from the actual camera can you?
.. Lap..

shigthicko 23:55 12 May 03

i am a thicko no there is no boxes for sound to tick and i checked my sound card is working properly , yes there is sound coming from the camera you can hear it but when you play it on computer there is none but i recorded it through movie maker and guess what when you play it back the sound is there so problem solved but there is something else i wonder if you can help with the picture quality looks poor compared to he camera can you sujest a good software program as i want to save them onto cds when i have edited them
thank you for your help both of you much appreciated.

y_not 06:52 13 May 03