Limited or no connectivity -help, complete novice!

kcmcme 19:04 22 Nov 05

Hello

I am having big problems with my wireless network upstairs. It has been working fine for the past few months since I got it but recently it has been stating it has limited or no connectivity when attempting to dial up i guess.

The signal on the little reciever is fine, and obviously the internet down here is all great so i was wondering if any of you could help me?

I am usuing a linksys home box if that helps. Thank you in advance - dads away and he normally fixes this kind of thing,
Kate

mgmcc 20:09 22 Nov 05

I don't know what a "Linksys home box" is - a "router" perhaps?

In general terms, the "Limited or No Connectivity" error means that the network adapter, in this case the wireless adapter in your upstairs computer, has been unable to get its IP address from the DHCP server (the router if that's what you are connecting to) and so Windows has allocated its address instead. When Windows does this, it gets an address in the 169.254.x.x range, which results in Limited or No Connectivity, hence the error.

When first switching on, the "Linksys home box" should be running before the PC is booted, so that (1) the wireless adapter can connect to the network and (2) the wireless adapter can get its IP address.

If you are using Windows XP, what you can do is to open the Network Connections folder, double click the "Wireless Network Connection" and select the Support tab and click the Repair button. This should force the adapter to renew its IP address and, if it can find the DHCP server, it should then get its proper address, probably in the 192.168.x.x range.

kcmcme 20:24 22 Nov 05

Ah thanks for the reply, it won't reapir it for some reason, it says it can't...

Is there a support line to phone that you know of?

mgmcc 20:43 22 Nov 05

I don't know of a support line.