Lexmark X85 - Installation Problem!!!

Angela-231919 23:45 23 Jun 03

I have just bought a Lexmark X85 and I am having problems installing it. I can use the photocopier but can't get the printer connected. I follow all the instructions on the CD up to the point where I connect the USB cable but it is not detected and I can go no further. I have followed the advice to disconnect both the USB cable & the power supply then restart the computer all to no avail. I am very new to computing and I'm learning by trial and error so if anyone can help please try to make it plain & simple for me !!!.

LastChip 23:54 23 Jun 03

The first question is, are you using any other USB devices?

Sometimes, the USB function is turned off in the BIOS by default, but if you are using other devices, this would not be the case.

Next, what operating system are you using?

And finally, do you know what motherboard your computer uses?

Angela-231919 00:05 24 Jun 03

Not using any other devices. (but what is BIOS!!)Operating Windows ME and have no idea about Motherboard.

MichelleC 08:32 24 Jun 03

Lexi's can be a pain to install (I've got 2). It's best to start again:

Uninstall all Lexmark via add/remove (even 1 remaining file can interfer), THEN do a search for Lexmark to find any hidden files and delete, THEN reboot, THEN turn off all non-vital b/g progs (even system restore for ME), THEN istall.

Jester2K II 08:38 24 Jun 03

I installed a x75 on a clients Windows Me pc last month - same problem Printer Not Detected. Ignore the drivers on the CD use the ones off Lexmark website. click here

click here to start the download

14mb

Lexmark All In One X85 Driver for Microsoft Windows 98/Me Driver Version 1.0.7.1 13/10/2002

Jester2K II 08:39 24 Jun 03

Also make sure you plug the printer into a USb port on the PC and not on a hub - some makes won't work through hubs... (even powered hubs)

Angela-231919 19:54 24 Jun 03