Legit WinXP Home CD & install on 2 PCs same house

Giggle n' Bits 12:49 04 Sep 03

Can/does anyone out there know if its possible and does not cause any user/internet problems?.

If I was to have my 2 computers in my house both with WinXP Home from installed from the same CD on both computers.

So as not have to buy another nor not have to network pc's.

Would internet problems arrise ? Or any problems at all.

sdf 12:55 04 Sep 03

I Recently asked a similar question to some friends as MS, I own a copy of Win XP currently on my laptop. I asked if I could also put it on my desktop. The response was one liscence, one machine. With MS Office you can put the same copy on 1 desktop and 1 laptop (theory being you can't be using both at once (which of course all of us multi-tasking wizards can do with Windows apparantly!?!?)). I am not an expert on MS Licences, though I am told if you read in full the terms of a Win XP Licence you'll find you dont actually even own it! Crazy, but hey. I could be wrong on all of this - just passing on what I been told

Jester2K II 12:57 04 Sep 03

You only own the license to use it.

You can only use one copy of XP on one PC unless you buy a new license for the second PC.

Giggle n' Bits 14:11 04 Sep 03

oh, Well looks like I will have to buy another.

Barrie_G 14:30 04 Sep 03

click here it might save you a few quid.

Linus Tourvald 14:35 04 Sep 03

if you were to use it on the two computers it will not cause any problems with internet etc, the only problem is it will be illegal. Personally i WOULD use it on both as it is hardly the crime of the century is it!! and who would know?

Ivor_Monkey 15:44 04 Sep 03

I don't know, but are there two technical problems:

1) doesn't the second machine automatically communicate the existence of the software on its system back to the mother ship. Doesn't Mr.Gates then realise that you have same version running on 2 machines. Do you then get: Knock knock ....