laptop repairs

silliw 13:00 03 Feb 06

last night my laptop (Compaq evo 1015v)kept turning itself off unexpectedly after which I noticed that there was a problem with either the power adaptor or the power in socket. I have since tried an alternative power lead which confirmed that I have a loose connection at the power socket.

I am quite familiar with the insides of a desktop pc and have built/rebuilt a number of machines but I have no experience of the insides of a laptop.

Are repairs such as this may be within the capabilities of an experienced user or is this an expensive call to an engineer.

rmcqua 13:07 03 Feb 06

If the problem is the pin of the power input connector, where it attaches to the laptop mainboard, it's bad news. We use a couple of hundred laptops at my workplace and when this happens, as it occasionally does, our IT Manager considers the laptop as a write-off.

jack 14:39 03 Feb 06

If you take rmcqua at his/her word then on the
principle if its broke you cant break it worse- Have a Go
Failing that i find a repairer and pay the shipping costs and repair costs for what may be ineffectual.
The Classified Ads section of PCA has on occasion a 'lappie repairer' or get a copy of 'MicroMart'

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 15:14 03 Feb 06

The power socket is soldered on to the motherboad and is quite often a standard 3.5 DC power socket available from many electrical stores i.e. Mplins

What makes the job so hard and costly is the amount of time it takes to strip the laptop down to the motherboard to effect the repair.

So if you have time and can use a solderig iron (probably not broken but just loose on the board)
have a go.

Look for a service manual on the web for your laptop before you start.

ruskle 19:54 03 Feb 06