Laptop not connecting to router

TheKid31 10:16 16 Dec 07

I am so glad for finding this site. I am a newbie here and I could not figure it out in FAQ or other threads. Don't worry though, I am fairly adept at explaining and following instructions (to the limits of my computer knowledge which is average) So...

I have a Dell laptop with a Wireless WLAN mini-card (over 1 year now). For about 2 weeks, my wifi will not connect to my D-Link router, though I can connect to other people's bandwith (the ones that are not secured). When I go to my site monitor, it shows that I have huge bandwith available coming from my router but when I connect to it it doesn't work and reconnects to someone else's (who's bandwidth sucks). I have troubleshot to no avail. My desktop works, and my roommate's desktop with wifi receiver works, my wife's laptop worked until she got rid of it, only my laptop doesn't. Also, the person who set this up for me doesn't speak English and cannot come here to help.

Here are my stats for that network as shown on the site monitor (I know little what these mean):

Standard...802.11b & 802.11g
Channel: 6
Data Encryption: None

Here is my config for that network:

Ad Hoc (not checked)
Network Authentication: Open

I have tried to check the Ad Hoc box and set the channel to 6 but that does not resolve the problem.

Can anybody give me some troubleshooting tips? I am sure you will need to ask me a little more to help me. This is my first laptop (1 year now), I have always had desktops before.

Also, after I fix it, can I make it more secure? I notice that almost all of the other networks are locked in my area (about 15 or so) and mine is not. How do I set it up so that only my household can access the network. Also, am I vulnerable if it is not encrypted/secure?

Thank you so much if you can help. I will try to keep my next responses much shorter and to the point.

ambra4 11:33 16 Dec 07

Setting Up The Wireless System in the Router