La Fonera+ & Cable Broadband [Set Top Box]

busybaz 12:27 08 Feb 08

WiFi networking total novice here, be gentle with me!

Recived my free La Fonera+ WiFi Router but cannot detect network when all connected. Tried inputting IP address etc manually but come unstuck at Port Forwarding.

Am trying to set up with a non-wifi desktop so that wifi access available for laptops.

OS is Windows 2000 Pro SP4. Broadband is via NTL Samsung Set Top TV Box [Virgin Media], USB adapter at PC end of ethernet cable plugged into PC USB port. Network adapter is EZ Connect USB To Dual Speed Ethernet Converter. [ZoneAlarm Firewall in use if that could be a factor]

Anyone successfully managed to connect with this set up?

harry12 18:36 09 Feb 08

If your broadband is from NTL cable the router will not work. I believe it's only for phone lines.

busybaz 08:55 10 Feb 08

Perfect answer, harry12, many thanks. Broadband IS cable.

Hope other PCA recipients of the free gift/people thinking of subscribing for the free gift that have cable read this thread and save a lot of headaches!!!!

conan_troutman 02:13 11 Feb 08

the Lafonera+ works just fine with a cable connection...just ensure your modem has an earthnet connection from it to you pc...just unconnect the earthent cable and connect the la fonera+ to the modem via the WAN port then connect the remaining earthnet port to the pc connect the power supply count to thirty and boot up the PC...you should be up and running connecting the WIFI laptops is pretty much the same as any other router aslong as you know your SSID ( the defualt is FON_MYPLACE) and your password is the serial number printed under the router.

it will not work with a modem that uses a USB connection as they decided not to add this to the FON router for some strange reasoj as it was on the prototype...although I do not know if it was to connect to the inter with or to allow you to connect a device such as a printer or storage device to be shared by all on your network