Jumper settings for old HD now slave

lindy 17:18 02 Jul 03

Hi
Can anyone help. I have a Maxtor HD [master] and a Western Digital [slave]. I have put the jumper settings as it says on the website for each of the companies - but my computer still doesn't recognise the Western Digital drive which is the slave.

Is there perhaps a compatibility problem?

pj123 17:34 02 Jul 03

From experience, take all the jumpers off to make it a slave and give it a try.

Deeman 20:57 02 Jul 03

Hi, firstly,are your two HDDs on the Same IDE ribbon cable?

lindy 19:26 03 Jul 03

Hi Deeman,

Yes my two hard drives are on the same ribbon cable - I thought they had to be as I don't appear to have any spare cable or sockets on the motherboard - I don't think!

Deeman 20:17 03 Jul 03

if i am correct you probably have another cable running a cdrom or even a Dvd drive try placing the main Hdd(the boot HHD)by itself with Master Jumper setting and placing the other HDD set to slave with your CD rom ,I had a problem when i installed both my CDRW and CD rom on the same ribbon,only one of the drives was reconized and both CD trays opened!! Also you should only run Two IDE devices off one ribbon cable

woodchip 20:25 03 Jul 03

The old drive should have the jumper on sl if you look on top of the drive it will show a diagram of where the jumper should go

lindy 22:28 03 Jul 03

Thanks to you both for your responses. I have actually tried disconnecting the CD and putting the spare HD on the cable but my computer wouldn't start at all. It's a Packard Bell and seems to have it's own set up arrangements and won't start unless the CD is enabled.

I did actually put the jumper on as directed on the diagram at the front of the HD but again it wouldn't work.

I have since disconnected the new drive and put on the old one which was working with windows 98 on my old computer, but no longer works on the Packard Bell compuer. It must have something to do with the settings on the motherboard!