Job as a PC technician

danabrey 20:23 10 Aug 13

Hi all

I do hope I'm posting this in an ok-ish place. I'm hoping to get the advice of some PC techies so thinking they might hang around here!

I have no working experience with PC or laptop repair, but have tinkered a SMALL amount in my own time, and often fix others' software issues. I applied for a job the other day as a PC technician with training provided as I would like to get involved in the industry and enjoy the little bits of PC help I give to friends etc.

As it happens, the job is at a small shop and the only currently employed technician is leaving next week, but I've been offered the job even though I've been completely honest about my lack of experience. They are looking for someone else as well, but in the meantime i will be mostly left to my own devices to learn via Google and just going for it and crossing my fingers, which is both exciting and bewildering in equal measure.

What I'm asking for is a little advice on what to read first, really. Does anyone have any links for bibles for basic PC and laptop repair and well written tutorials and explanations?

I'd be grateful for any advice and apologies if this isn't the kind of help I'm meant to be asking for!

Mr Mistoffelees 20:44 10 Aug 13

No disrespect to yourself intended but, it seems very odd that they would entrust all their repair work to a self-confessed novice working on his own.

danabrey 20:48 10 Aug 13

I agree entirely. I assume that any complicated work will be turned down until there is someone more experienced working alongside me and it will mainly be simple laptop screen replacements, virus issues and the like. It does worry me that the business may not be run professionally but the shop has been there with the same owner for 12+ years so I am unsure what to think.

Graphicool1 21:42 10 Aug 13