irc ban

s99Raj 16:53 20 May 05

I've NEVER used irc before until yesterday and am a total beginner in it. I downloaded MIRC and went to a channel that interested me. I read a few of the posts for a while and then started typing in a few of my own, asking for help now and then. Not knowing totally what I was doing I made a few errors and then got banned !

I thought this was ridiculous and very mean. They don't give newbies much of a chance, do they? During my session I even wrote "sorry about that - I'm just learning" because I didn't post in the "correct" format.

I'd like to rejoin that particular channel but how can I? How can I get in touch with the person in charge of a particular channel?

Yoda Knight 16:56 20 May 05

Just change your Nick(name) and log back in

s99Raj 17:03 20 May 05

[email protected] tried that but it seems to recognise my IP address or something and says I'm still banned.

I tried uninstalling MIRC and reinstalling with a different username, password and e-mail address but I still got the same ban.

Yoda Knight 17:10 20 May 05

Reset ur ip address then:

From the command prompt: ipconfig /release <enter> ipconfig /renew <enter>

s99Raj 17:23 20 May 05

Sounds clever - when do I do that? Anytime? Before, during after opening MIRC. Or do I run the commands one after the other in the command prompt?

s99Raj 17:30 20 May 05

i tried that - still get "address is banned"

Technotiger 17:58 20 May 05

Hi, I wouldn't let it bother you - there are plenty of other IRC channels out there where I am sure you will be more than welcome - newbie or not. So I would advise you to perhaps check in Google or similar, like Yahoo or MSN and I am sure you will find a channel that you can enjoy.

Happy hunting.

roy 23:05 20 May 05

You could try deleting your cookies and a new name.

about:blank 23:31 20 May 05

deleating cookies wont help, nor will uninstalling your IRC client.