Internet Explorer 8 & Broadband slowing right down

crespo 20:24 28 Apr 09

Hi ! As a Silver Surfer Newbie i would appreciate some advice on why my laptop has slowed right down to Dial-up style speeds.I tested the speed with an online checker & i should be getting twice the 1.1 Mbs that was found.

I'm using IE8 & together with my slow broadband speed, it's affecting my research work online.IE8 freezes sometimes, the cursor is all over the place & the Vista "circle" that indicates progress or waiting time comes up quite a lot.

It's a year old laptop with no previous problems.There's not a lot of software downloaded & there's no viruses or spyware.I use Norton Internet Security & also used another online checker and everything is clear.

Could comeone please help me out & tell me why my laptop is behaving so oddly & why the speeds of loading pages & my browser are of dial-up standard.I'm using BT Wireless Broadband by the way.

Thanks very much ~ Crespo.

Marko797 20:44 28 Apr 09

I'll give u the 'classic' reply first and see how u get on. Both are free btw:

1. Get and run CCleaner - use the filehippo link click here

1b. Analyse, then Run Cleaner. Also, run Registry tool, 2nd icon down in CCleaner main menu.

2. Get, update, then run SAS - the second one down - click here

johnnyrocker 20:51 28 Apr 09

also re evaluate norton's settings as is a known heavy user of resources

johnny

T0SH 22:07 28 Apr 09

If you use either spybot search and destroy with Immunise feature active or spywareblaster, IE8 will slow to a crawl

to prove if this is the cause of your problem you can test by using Undo on the S&D Immunise and remove all protection from spywareblaster

I ended up having to uninstall both and now rely on Superantispyware which so far seems to be adequate

Cheers HC

Woolwell 22:13 28 Apr 09

Are other programs slow too?