internet-enabling a lap-top

end 11:13 19 May 04

am sure the answer is not what I want to hear, but....assuming one needs a modem or similar to get a thing to conect with the internet ( apart from all the other bits), is this a "downloadable" thing or something that has to be inserted by a technician??? and roughly how much might the beastie cost????

Chronos 11:41 19 May 04

if one is not already fitted, it would be cheaper to go and buy one, then just plug it in...

end 11:44 19 May 04

do they come in "all shapes and sizes" or "standard" ( one very novice here), and roughly how much am I "looking at" £ p wise???

billyliv 11:47 19 May 04

Hi, You should have a socket on your laptop where a telephone cable plugs in. You should also have Internet Explorer which includes Outlook Express. There I will stop because it isnt worthwhile continuing if you dont have the above. Post back. Cheers, Bill

Chronos 11:49 19 May 04

all sizes, all colours, from about £15, maybe cheaper online. you sure that one is not already fitted?

TomJerry 11:50 19 May 04

Which way you want to do? Cost around £30 even less, no technician needed. A 4 years old kid can do it.

What is the spec or model of your laptop? When you list info, a lot of people will point out to you what kits to get and where is the cheapest place to get.

TomJerry 11:51 19 May 04

spanneress 11:54 19 May 04

You can plug and external modem in or purchase a PCMIA modem card which is just slightly bigger than a credit card and slots into supplied spaces on the lap top. Have a look and just check you don't have internet capability (a phone plug looky likey socket), USB or PCMIA slots....

TomJerry 12:21 19 May 04