Internet connection sharing

MAJ 22:12 04 Dec 03

I've had my BB connection for about two months now and am considering setting up another PC in my bedroom and sharing my BB connection with this PC which is downstairs. I know I have a few choices on how to do it, but I need some "joined-up thinking". I know basically that I can do it three ways:

1. Install an ethernet card in each PC and network them using a crossover cable, then by leaving this PC connected and using Windows' ICS, share the connection on the bedroom PC. But I know ICS can be a bit of a chore to configure, or at least I believe it can be.......I've never done it before.

2. Get a router and connect the two PCs to the router.

3. Wireless network, but that's a little expensive, so I'll forget about that for a while.

I think option 2 might be best, so a few things need to be clarified for me.

I have an ADSL modem connected via USB. Can that be connected to a router? If not, do I need another modem (ethernet??)? Or does the router have a built-in modem? If the router has a built-in modem, is it still connected to the telephone socket on the wall with an RJ11 cable, or is it connected another way (I've never seen a router before)?

Both PCs will be running XP.

Grateful for some clarification, people. :-)

DAG88 22:21 04 Dec 03

Your ADSL modem connects directly to the router so all connections will be the same else where except the computers will be connected to the router instead of modem

Eg, ISP -> Modem -> Router -> PCs

MAJ 22:41 04 Dec 03

Thanks for the reply, DAG88. So the router has a USB port on it for my modem to connect to, yes? As I said, I've never seen one.

DAG88 22:47 04 Dec 03

no, sorry i forgot to mention they all link up using network cables not USB

DAG88 22:49 04 Dec 03

if your modem does not have a Ethernet output you will have to buy a new modem with 1 if you r to use a standard router. Maby someine else can advise if any exist that use USB although I have never seen 1