Internet Connection Problem

Redshank 13:48 04 Oct 07

Hi, absolute beginner here! I switched from AOL to Sky (Broadband) a couple of months ago. I have AVG Antivirus installed, together with McAfee firewall (which came free with aol - I've just left this on my pc when I terminated my aol account).
My internet connection has been fine up to two nights ago, now I can't connect. My homepage on internet explorer is Google, when I click this it just displays a blank white page, eventually timing out (very occasionally, it loads the Google front page and appears to be OK but then the connection instantly drops).I tried all the solutions on the "Sky help" but to no avail, then spent over an hour on the phone with a technical help representative who ran through everything again (all the lights on the router etc are OK). He then checked the line/connection from their end, and confirmed this was OK. He basically ran out of ideas and Sky have washed their hands of me. Their only suggestion is that it "could be a virus blocking a port" and suggest I ring AVG and/or McAfee.
Could there be a simple soultion to this?...or do I have to contact AVG/McAfee? Presumably there are some simple checks I can perform via internet explorer etc? Please help!
Thanks.

jack 14:32 04 Oct 07

delete the connection[network connections highlight it and delete.
Now do a bit of registry editing - quite simple
Go to Start /run/type in the field 'regedit'
Go to 'Edit' on the top bar and 'find'
type one the field AOL.
All the comes up highlight and delete.
No go to Control and add remove software and remove McAfee.
Now reboot
If you have an propriery firewall in go the Control Panel and make sure the Windows one is off
Now reboot and reinstall Sky

birdface 18:25 04 Oct 07