Internal Virus Database out of date: message appearing on incoming mail

patrici 13:33 PM 30 Sep 12

Been having computer issues all week. Now noticed the message 'internal virus database out of date' showing on my incoming mail (all known to me - not Spam) instead of the usual 'No virus detected AVG'

I have free AVG and Zone Alarm. All says up to date and protected. So why?

Can anyone please help? I am not technically minded at all, I'm afraid, so please speak slowly!!

mgmcc 13:53 PM 30 Sep 12

I don't use AVG but are you able to perform a manual update of its definitions to see if that resolves the problem?

patrici 14:51 PM 30 Sep 12

Thank you. I did a complete computer scan this morning (about 3 hours). All fine. Now I've just done a manual update on AVG. After, I did a test email from my gmail a/c and it showed as 'no virus....'!! Could it be that simple?? I'll wait for another email to arrive and check the message again.

I have Zone Alarm firewall (?) and when I checked it said 'fully protected'. But then a box popped up saying it's an old version and should be updated. Can I trust it? Should I update? I'm usually very cautious of messages just 'popping' up. Actually, I did click on update (with trepidation) and the 'blocked pop-up bar' showed, so I closed it! Should I disable the bar temporarily to allow the updated version to proceed?

patrici 14:54 PM 30 Sep 12

Thank you. I did a complete computer scan this morning (about 3 hours). All fine. Now I've just done a manual update on AVG. After, I did a test email from my gmail a/c and it showed as 'no virus....'!! Could it be that simple?? I'll wait for another email to arrive and check the message again.