//some 3rd party need geo

installing an os to slave drive.

chefjuan 13:52 23 Mar 05

Hi.I am pretty new to computers and would like some help. I have 2 hard drives, one is an 80gb which i use as my master and the second is a 20gb set to slave. I would like to know if there is any way i could load an os ie xp which I have on my master, onto my slave. Then I would like to save things such as photo's and video files onto it freeing up space on my master hoping this will then mean my master isn't slowed down. does this make sense and is it achievable? any help would be appriciated greatly. thanks, sean.

TomJerry 14:04 23 Mar 05

all HDD manufacturers' have their own software for this purpose, just go to the manufacturer's web site and download the software

chefjuan 14:06 23 Mar 05

I have right clicked and copied the 'windows' folder to the slave drive, it says approximetley 18 mins, which I'm hoping sounds right as windows is obviously a big file. will I be able to access the slave drive ie: will it have a desktop?thanks for your help. sean

happy dragon 14:14 23 Mar 05

surley the windows folder does not contain the full o/s is there not different files scattered throughout your pc's h/d and not just in the windows folder this sounds too easy ?

TomJerry 14:16 23 Mar 05

read my post above

Audeal 14:27 23 Mar 05

I don't understand why you need an os on the slave drive, it is not needed. Copying the Windows folder will not transfer the os onto the D drive as you need to transfer the Registry as well.

If you only need to ues the drive for saving your photos etc then just copy & paste them onto the D drive. Then In the future you can save your photos directly onto your D drive.

Terry Brown 14:44 23 Mar 05