Installing Norton Virus

groundhog99 13:45 17 Dec 06

I'm a complete beginner so please be gentle with me!

I've just purchase a new PC and installed all the windows updates(its windows XP). I've just tried to install Nortons anti virus from disk and it is has not worked. It went through several registry errors, and then comes up with 9999.171 error. This directs me to the Nortons website which then advises to download the Norton Removal Tool. But unfortunately when I try to run this I get an error 0x80070005. I feel as if I'm in groundhog day (apt I know for my name!) but can't break the loop.

Please can someone help me!

RicScott 13:50 17 Dec 06

Knowing the manufacturer of the PC would help..
If you purchased it from PCWorld or Currys, there is a way of running the removal tool and also an updated removal tool.
If you have a Packard Bell, remove it through the Smart Restore tool.

Have a look in Add/Remove programs to see if you can see NIS there.. If you can, try to remove it from there then run the tool. The tool cleans the registry.

RobCharles1981 13:54 17 Dec 06

I wouldnt bother with Norton at all download this click here

To remove norton

and get either AVG or Avast (Which I'm trying out now) from

click here

p;3 14:01 17 Dec 06

I too would suggest that you leave the Norton alone and go for the AVG or the Avast ( I am using avg after removing norton some while ago); AVG is far more user friendly ;however, if you insist on using the Norton hopefully someone may be able to help you with it