Installing A New Drive

D-Frame 10:43 17 Feb 04

I currently have Win98 Pentium 2 computer and i want to put a new 60GB Hard drive on there. I used your workhop tutorials about how to Install a second hard drive, but it hasnt worked. Im very new to the world of "inside your tower". Could someone please help me.

I currently have a
Floppy Disk A: Drive
2GB C: Drive
CD Rom D: Drive
And A Thing For Tapes Or Something...

Gongoozler 11:12 17 Feb 04

Hi D-Frame. First to clear up a confusion. I presume you mean the tutotials in PCA magazine. They aren't "ours", we are just readers of the magazine and members of the forum like you, but we're all willing to share our knowledge to help a fellow forum member.

You say that you have followed the tutorials but it hasn't worked. The first thing you need to do is to set the link on the new drive into the "Slave" position. Then fix the drive into a spare bay and connect the second ide connector that is on the same cable as the first drive. Then plug in a spare power connector. The CD ROM drive is best on the secondary IDE cable. The "Thing For Tapes Or Something" is probably a zip drive or some other backup device. If you don't intend to use it, I would suggest removing it. Now switch on your computer and while it's booting up, watch for a message that says something like "Press del for setup". Press the appropriate key (probably the Delete key), and you will be in the BIOS setup screen. Select the "Standard CMOS Features" menu (or whatever the equivalent is for your BIOS. You should now see a list of all the drives. If your new drive isn't shown as the IDE Primary slave, check that this position is set to Auto, and if it isn't, make it so. What you do next depends on your BIOS, you may be able to auto detect the drives, or you may have to reboot. Save and exit the BIOS and let us know the results so far.

D-Frame 11:19 17 Feb 04

Do i have the use some sort of jumper?

rickf 11:23 17 Feb 04