Install new HDD in laptop

ronec 12:07 12 Dec 13

I have a new HDD to install in my laptop. Unfortunately I only have a recovery disc for my Windows 7 OS and of course the new hard drive will not accept it. However I do have a genuine Windows XP OS on disc from an old computer. If I install this, can I then use my Windows 7 recovery to re install that system. If so, how would I get rid of XP once & is installed. Please do not give a too technical answer,as I am not that good at these things.

lotvic 13:25 12 Dec 13

Download an official Microsoft .iso of Windows 7 and burn your own installation DVD click here scroll down to the English(USA) Media Refresh (SP1 U) versions as they already have sp1 integrated with W7. Use your own product key that should be on the coa sticker on base of laptop.

You will need to find and download all the Drivers ready to install them as well for your laptop's motherboard chipset and hardware.

May I ask what state your old hard drive is in? is it bootable? it may be possible to restore it back to factory fresh if you tell us what make and model of laptop it is.

If you are wanting to replace it with a bigger harddrive then it also may be possible to clone your existing old one. This would be easiest way.

ronec 14:15 12 Dec 13

Thanks lotvic. I need to change my hard drive as it is almost full. It is only a 120GB one, so I purchased a 500GB. My laptop is a six year old Acer Aspire 9302AWSMi, runs a bit hot and rubbish graphics, but I cannot afford to upgrade at the moment. Thanks for the reply

onthelimit1 15:37 12 Dec 13

If it's working, easiest option is to buy a cheap caddy to plug into USB port and put the new drive in there. You can then clone old to new with free software. Saves all the hassle of finding drivers etc.

onthelimit1 15:43 12 Dec 13