(initramfs)

Ozy 14:57 03 Jan 09

I downloaded Kubuntu, put it on a disc,
When I turn the computer on I get the choice,
XP or Kubuntu, choose Kubuntu ,
Kubuntu logo comes on, blue square goes back and forward
a few times, then I get this command prompt.
(initramfs) Kubuntu does not load.
I get the same on a Vista computer

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 15:08 03 Jan 09

I'm just a beginner with Linux myself but it looks like something gone wrong in the boot stage, can't find the boot disk and you are thrown into a console.

when you boot, press esc when given the chance, then press 'e'. Edit the kernel line, remove "quiet splash" and add "debug". Then press enter and "b"
It will give you a log somewhere like / tmp.
Its probably not mounting the drive correctly.

octal 22:44 03 Jan 09

You could try downloading from a different mirror or if you burnt it to a DVD try burning to a CD instead, the burn could be getting corrupted. Also when you have downloaded make sure the checksums match.

LastChip 01:08 04 Jan 09

The latest version is a bit buggy on loading. I had the same problem. Are you on a 64bit machine?

click here for a short review I wrote that explains the problems I experienced.

It's got some nice features once it's going, but quite honestly, it needs to get the installation problems sorted, as there's no better way to put people off.

You could try SimplyMEPIS, click here if you wish. It's another solid distro that is not all that well known, but is still Debian/KDE based (KDE 3.5 if I remember correctly) and runs really nicely.

Like most modern distros, you can run it from the CD and see if you get any problems before attempting to install. This gives you a good idea as to whether you are likely to get any hardware problems.

This is probably not what you wanted to hear, but I hope it helps you overall. Do keep in mind, the Ubuntu family, whilst being well known, are not the only games in town and there are many other very competent distros for you to try.