Infinity 2 - browsing speed expectations

Gordon Freeman 18:48 29 Mar 14

Hi All, just had this installed but am wondering whether I should expect to be whizzing through the internet like a speeding gazelle with this?

Speedtest advises dl 71 mbps, ul 16 mbps, ping 23 ms.

The stats may look impressive, but to be honest I'm not noticing anything outstanding, performance-wise, when I'm browsing the web via IE11. Doesn't matter if I'm on my laptop via wifi on win 8.1, or via desktop on win 7, which is hard wired to the hub; still nothing special when browsing.

Dl a film, or music is very fast, which is what I expected, but general surfing isn't that much different to non-Infinity 2. I'm not saying it's sluggish or anything, but it's not 'flying' between web pages like I thought it might.

I'm not a techie, but am I missing something, or expecting too much?

Gordon Freeman 18:52 29 Mar 14

...maybe should have mentioned both laptop and desktop are both Intel i7's with 8 & 12 gb RAM respectively.

john bunyan 19:08 29 Mar 14

I only have a download of about 8 mbps. I do not download films nor play online games - applications for which your super speeds seem to be designed. Where I live I am too far from the main road to have fibre optic cabling. I shall watch this thread with interest, as I am actually quite happy with my humble 8 mbps and have often wondered, as you have, if these super fast speeds are discernible except for HD films etc.

wee eddie 19:21 29 Mar 14

I have been told that the speed of the computer becomes the limiting factor. How many Tabs you have open, that sort of thing.

rdave13 19:28 29 Mar 14