im gonna try building my own computor but....

bretjones 17:58 29 Jan 07

i have never tried it before, i currently have a crappy acer laptop which i bought last year, but am feeling the need for more speed, so i have decided to try building my own, with the following spec:

click here
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

this is essentially going to be a budget gaming pc, so any suggestions for more suitable components would be very much appreciated.
links would be very nice
also, if there any any other things i need (yes i have a screwdriver) to build the tower unit then please say. thank yooooo! :)

ed-0 18:12 29 Jan 07

best check your compatibility of products, again.

You have selected a AM2 socket motherboard and a Socket 939 processor.

ed-0 18:20 29 Jan 07

These cpu's WILL fit that motherboard. click here

make sure you check the bios versions as you may have to flash with some cpu's.

bretjones 19:03 29 Jan 07

right you are, thanks, any improvements to that setup for the money? im on a budget of about 450 for the tower.

bretjones 19:06 29 Jan 07

right you are, thanks, any improvements to that setup for the money? im on a budget of about 450 for the tower.

BigMoFoT 15:32 30 Jan 07

Your onboard sound on the ASUS board will be far superior

keef66 15:54 30 Jan 07

you need a better graphics card if you're gaming, and don't buy it from Crucial. Scroll down to the X1600 pro click here
or better still try a 7600gs
click here

Yes, ditch the sound card.

You could find a cheaper quiet cooler for the cpu. Don't get me wrong, it's a nice cooler, but you don't need to be spending that much in a budget system.

You could make a major saving in carriage costs by buying from just one or two retailers, rather than the dozen or so you've selected.

You could also consider a mobo / cpu / cooler / ram bundle, or a barebones kit to save money.

spuds 15:55 30 Jan 07

Thought about a barebones?. click here