IE7 Versus IE6

Switcher 22:48 11 Nov 07

I am considering updating to IE7 from IE6. Any comments on whether this is a good Idea I Am running XP pro.

six-h 23:25 11 Nov 07

I too was a bit reticent to upgrade to IE7, but now several months down the line, and I wouldn't go back!
Try it, you can always use "Sys.Restore" if it's too stressful!

Totally-braindead 23:34 11 Nov 07

I've been using it for maybe 4 or 5 months now and like it. It does crash on occassion but I've stuck with it and like the tabbed browsing and addons such as the pop up blocker.

I tried Firefox and didn't like the way it displayed stuff but perhaps thats more to do with me not setting it up right I don't know. I have kept Firefox on my PC as a backup just in case.

I can put up with the odd crash as I like it that much and hope that Microsoft will patch it to fix the crashes. It doesn't do it often maybe once every couple of weeks and it does give you the opportunity to reopen all the IE windows you had open before if it does crash.

Bit annoying but I can live with it and would hate to go back to IE6

six-h 23:39 11 Nov 07

I'm finding that it occasionally crashes, mainly due to Flash 9d.ocx which I thought Adobe had a fix for - aparently not!
I'm intrigued that you have the option to carry on where you left off so to speak.
How do you manage that?

Totally-braindead 23:45 11 Nov 07

To be honest I don't know. It crashes and a white box appears saying that I had such and such windows open before the crash and asking me if I wish to reopen them again, it has tick boxes for the IE windows you wish to open.

I thought it was part of IE7 but maybe its not. I have also added IE7 Pro onto IE7 after someone on the Forum recommended it and it could well be that thats opening the box. Thinking about it it probably is this addon thats doing it.

Good little program that IE7 Pro, includes a spellchecker that underlines what you type when it can't identify it. Useful as I'm a terrible typist.