IE6, Firefox and CSS help, please

TED1 18:48 09 Feb 05

As I am new to HTML, could anyone please help. I have created a simple web site using HTML, and a cascading style sheet. Now it works OK in IE6, but the layout and Font are, different in Firefox. What am I doing wrong?

Handy Spinner 19:03 09 Feb 05

Can you give a link? We'll probably need that to diagnose the problem.

Oh, and well done for checking your site in another browser. ;)

TED1 21:48 09 Feb 05

This is the address click here

thanks for the help.

Talented Monkey 22:26 09 Feb 05

on glaringly obvious mistake through out the CSS is you have = ( equal signs ) instead of : ( colon). you also put double quotes around values where its not needed. only time you need "" around a value is when delacring a string or name such as a fotn name or an adress to a container image.

there are a also a few missing ; at end of lines and with color you really should have # infornt of value

you have the following code for H1

H1 {
font-family ="Accord Light SF";
TEXT-ALIGN :"center" ;
COLOR ="9999ff";
font-size ="xx-large";
font-weight ="500"

}

IT should be
H1 {
font-family : "Accord Light SF";
TEXT-ALIGN : center ;
COLOR : #9999ff;
font-size : xx-large;
font-weight : 500;

}

Also PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE drop the frames. this will not help you in your design! reason why frames are horrid have been mentioned amny a time, you, and your visitors will be far better off without them.

this is a good tutorial to read through to help with CSS> click here

ok change all those errors and see where we get to!

Talented Monkey 22:39 09 Feb 05

Where on earth did i get te idea of putting font names and so on in "" ?!?!?!?!??!?!? disregard that order! darn im goign to have to stop replying when im half asleep and been ont he booze.

Talented Monkey 22:45 09 Feb 05

ill get it right in a minute

ok For font names that require more than one word need the "" single words dont EG>>
font-family: monaco, "Courier New", courier ;