Identify a laptop

johndrew 15:33 07 Aug 06

My daughter is in the market for a laptop. I am advised, `it should not be too heavy and should cost less than £700`.

What she really need is a laptop with a large HDD (100GB ish), at least 512MB of RAM, a decent screen (at least 15 inch), a good spec DVD+/-RW, 2 x USB 2.0 (at minimum) and be reliable - a 2 year warranty would be nice. She will probably connect to an ADSL internet connection.

Oh yes, and from my knowledge of use in London, it may well help if there is a level of impact resistance available!!

I have little knowledge of laptops other than they open up, so anyone who uses one that (kind of) fits this spec and has either good or bad experieces would be able to provide data that would help.

Many thanks in anticipation.

Woolwell 16:26 07 Aug 06

What does she want to use it for?

Does she need software and is this part of the budget?

Does she need good battery life?

You will not get a ruggedised laptop at that price. Get a good well padded carry case instead.

I think that you may struggle to get more than 80Gb of HD below £700. 512Mb of RAM is the minimum to accept and you should get a good screen at that price.

If there is a risk of damage then I would want the extended warranty.

Have a look at the Dell 6400
click here

or an Acer
click here

There will be other brands too including Novatech.

johndrew 19:58 07 Aug 06

Thanks for responding.

It will be for general use; letters, accounts, e-mail, some browsing for purchases/holidays/etc.

For software she is buying the `Works` package or going for open office. Hopefully XP Home/Pro will be either pre-loaded or supplied with.

Battery life is always a question. Provided she gets at least an hour between charges little problem. More important is battery reliability, but then .....