IDE Vs SATA Problem

woodpecker 03:06 21 Mar 05

I have a shop bought PC which I wont to add a 3rd Hard Drive (which is IDE) which I have been given. The setup is as follows: SATA1-1stHD SATA2=2ndHD IDE1=Empty IDE2=DVD1&DVD2. The problem is that if I put the new HD into IDE1 the PC doesnt recognise it, if I remove DVD cable and put HD into IDE2 it works fine but DVDs are not seen if put in IDE1. I am therefore assuming that IDE1 is inactive when SATA drives are being used? If that is the case should I get a 3-1 IDE cable to put the Hard Drive and both DVDs on to? Don't want to go buying cables unless I'm sure that will sort it. Thanks in advance for your help! System contents {Mobo 865PE Neo2, Win XP Home ed}

xphile 08:11 21 Mar 05

I'm no expert, but I think there should be an option in bios settings to help. I did it the other way around. Already had 2 IDE drives & added a SATA drive. If both DVD drives are on the same channel & the other is free, I don't see why you can't add the IDE drive to channel 1. Although having said that, I seem to remember something somewhere that told me Motherboards only recognise 4 drives(not sure about that one?).Good luck & keep us posted on your progress.

selfbuild 08:47 21 Mar 05

"I seem to remember something somewhere that told me Motherboards only recognise 4 drives(not sure about that one?)."

I currently have 3 hard drives and 3 cd/dvd drives installed and working perfectly so that statement can't be true.....

Like xphile said though, go into the BIOS and check that the Primary IDE hasn't been disabled (can't see why but you never know).

Also check that the power cable is connected to the drive.... very easy to forget.....

georgemac © 09:16 21 Mar 05

are you using an 80 pin ide cable to connect the new drive? you will need this

also if the jumper on the new drive is set to be the master, make sure it is plugged in to the connector on the end of the cable