IDE, EIDE, ATA, and now SATA

Diemmess 18:12 29 Jun 05

I asking this question I claim not to be an absolute beginner except that I might as well be -for all I know about this terminology!

Have 2 HDs of (to me) normal characteristics - IDE?

I intend eventually to build a faster machine which may have a motherboard using SATA, Can I mount my "old" HDs within, or will this force me to use new HDs of a SATA disposition?

Allied to that question, briefly searching Google gives me the feeling that IDE, EIDE, and even ATA, will all connect with the primary and secondary IDE sockets on my present mobo, and maximum data transfer speeds are the only difference between these three?

I understand that the 'S' of SATA means serial ATA rather than parallel ATA....EIDE or IDE?

sunny staines 19:29 29 Jun 05

go for SATA II its faster if your mobo has a controller for it. Plus no longer need to set master/slave settings

Completealias 19:31 29 Jun 05

SATA uses a different connector on the drives think its like a four pin plug so yes you will need to buy a SATA drive to connect to that I think that most motherboards still have the IDE connectors as well thou so you could use your old drive in the meantime

Transfer speeds are one difference and I think maximum drive capacity was also another which is why EIDE was brought in

Danoh 19:50 29 Jun 05

"if you are completely new to computing
- so new you don't know your CD ROM from your RAM, and you wouldn't dream of opening the computer's case?"

Clearly, you’re not a beginner! :-)

IDE, EIDE, ATA (P-ATA) can be connected to new and older motherboards (mobo). S-ATA's have different connectors and cables and needs a corresponding connector on new mobos, which will also have the older type of connectors.