I want to make a windows 98 restore cd?

pcgal 19:10 19 Jun 03

I'm selling a computer to a friend but I've only got 1 windows 98se cd ..... I have 3licences so I can sell the computer on legally with a licence, but can anyone suggest a website that can help me create a windows98 restore cd in the event of her system crashing? I assume the process will involve copying cab files to the cd but can anyone expand on this subject and is it a complicated process to undertake.
I know I could copy the cd to her hard drive but a cd would be very handy so thanks to anyone who can help......pcgal

Valvegrid 19:14 19 Jun 03

Lets put it this way, Win98SE support ends at the end of this month, so what happens to the license?

Paul.

pcgal 19:29 19 Jun 03

Paul I'm no expert on law but I bet windows98 still needs a licence if its supported or not.

Valvegrid 21:45 19 Jun 03

From the Windows 98SE License text:

Separation of Components. The SOFTWARE PRODUCT is licensed as a single product. Its component parts may not be separated for use on more than one computer.

Paul.

pcgal 22:24 19 Jun 03

Paul I'm not separating component parts of windows 98 ......I'm loading windows 98 on the hard drive with a valid certificate of authenticity. I wont supply an illegal copy of the disc but simply supply a restore cd for the computer and yes I'm sure the restore cd will contain cab files etc of the licenced software but the cd will only work with that machine and this is why I 've posted the above question on where to find how to do it?
This is common practice in most computer shops where systems are no longer supplied with windows cd's....are you suggesting this is illegal practice?

pcgal 22:43 19 Jun 03

To add to my last post.......As far as im aware if a user has a valid certificate of authenticity for a microsoft product then that entitles the user to use the product irrespective of where the software was loaded or the disc it was loaded from.